TaskMap: Processes Made Easy

View Process Mapping Templates
Try TaskMap Standard
Try TaskMap Professional

Downloads >> Process Mapping Templates >> PRINCE2: 2009

PRINCE2: 2009

Background to PRINCE2: 2009

The PRINCE project management methodology was developed in 1989 by the CCTA (Central Computer and Telecommunications Agency) as the UK Government's standard for IT project management. It successor, PRINCE2, was released in 1996. The most current revision, PRINCE2: 2009 was released in early 2009 by the UK Office of Government Commerce.

One difference in PRINCE2: 2009 is that there are only two manuals: Managing Projects Using PRINCE2 and Directing Projects Using PRINCE2. In addition, the planning process has been integrated into the mainstream process maps and the 45 sub-processes that were prominent in earlier versions have been removed, making PRINCE2 simpler and easier to understand.

Learn about the Roles and Responsibilities Involved in the PRINCE2 methodology.

PRINCE2 is organized into seven processes:

  1. Starting up a Project
  2. Initiating a project
  3. Directing a project
  4. Controlling a stage
  5. Managing product delivery
  6. Managing stage boundaries
  7. Closing a project

Click on the image below to view the Process Map in HTML format

Web Published PRINCE2 Maps

Free Engine Rebuild Process Template Download

View the PRINCE2 Process in HTML format